Lettering & Water Colours

Doodling on my notebooks during classes or meetings had been an act out of boredom.  I have always thought that I am made to read or write or both.  And that was what I have been gladly pursuing.  However, we have such a generous God.  As I was not contented with just reading and I have been struggling with writing as I often find myself on dead ends or literally no ending, a new journey opened up for me.

So I expanded my horizons and started exploring lettering second half of last year.  There were moments where I felt like I’m getting nowhere, and whenever I compare my work to those amazing works of people I follow on Instagram I sometimes get frustrated.  But since lettering relaxes me, I pushed on.  Later on, I worked with water colours, which at first I was hesitant to try because I felt it was messy and I’m not really artistic, I couldn’t draw properly, all the excuses thinkable.  But I love colours and so I dived in the water colour adventure and it was soooo satisfying!  Even when I couldn’t draw an identifiable stuff, just spreading those colors all over the paper was like a massage! ((:

I still have that “I will publish a book” in my list.  I scrapped everything from the first draft of the book and restarted on it again few months back.  But at times that I do not feel any inspiration or idea that I can add to it, I take comfort in the stuff that I can do and  that relaxes me.  You can say it’s like trying to feel useful and productive, maybe. (:  And I found that lettering is like sharing about stuff of my interest in a lively, colourful and simple way.  With that, I am adding another category to this wordpress of mine DJLetters where I will share my lettering journey/blog.  Or you can follow me @djletters on Instagram where I do post more often. (:

Share your thoughts... :)

