Give Us This Day Our Daily Bread

How often have we knelt down and prayed for God to give us this and that, to grant us our desires and wishes?  And how often have we judged God’s faithfulness base on whether He has given in to our desires and wishes?  Do we ever realize that most of our prayers, if not all, revolve around asking God to do things for us and grant our wishes, like He is some genie under our command?  It is good to realize that, and it is good to stop ourselves whenever we realize we are doing that.  Praying with our flesh will lead us to pray for things to satisfy the flesh, but praying with the Spirit will lead us to converse and communicate with God and to pray for things that God desires for us.

Today, there is a prayer/sayings of Agur from the book of Proverbs that moved me.

“Two things I ask of you, Lord; do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’ Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God. ~ Proverbs 30:5-8

To ask God for what is needed for the day, enough for the day.  More than that, I am moved by his awareness of his human nature – the frailty of our nature because of carnal desires.  To have enough – no more, no less.  Let us pray for our daily bread, DAILY – enough comfort, enough trials.  And be led by the Spirit to ask God for His will, to work His will in to our hearts, to attain true peace and joy. (:

Share your thoughts... :)

