Hurt? Hope.

Whenever we are tired and hurt, our response often is to hide, to run away, to deny, to turn around, to be cast down.  To feel hurt is okay, it makes us human, it evidently shows we have a heart and we can feel.  It is good to feel – it is our check and balance in life.  To feel tired, to feel offended, to feel hurt.

It is also good to know that every time we hurt, every time that we want to scream and ask ‘why?’, every time we feel there’s no way out and we’re pushed to the wall – it’s wonderful to know we have this hope, a real hope, the light at the end of the tunnel, we have God.

Jeremiah is one of the prophets I love reading about.  Jeremiah lived through the horror of the exile and he saw God’s hand in the salvation of the Jews from exile.  He saw how the people of Israel has disobeyed God and He saw God’s mercy towards them.  He was a part of that twisted and disobedient generation yet He held firm to what he know about God.  He is someone who knows God and therefore He understands God and He knows that no matter what, even when physically he’s tired and mentally he’s exhausted, Jeremiah still put his hope in the God he knows – the God of mercy and of love.

We may go through deep waters, we may be exhausted with life’s problems,  we may be tired of dealing with uncontrollable situations pushing us to the wall.  Let us remember Jeremiah’s declaration in the book of Lamentations.  Let us hold firm to the HOPE that we have, let us rest in our loving and merciful God who will get us through our situation and who has defeated death and sin.

Lamentations 3:18-24 (AMP)

And I say, Perished is my strength and my expectation from the Lord. [O Lord] remember [earnestly] my affliction and my misery, my wandering and my outcast state, the wormwood and the gall. My soul has them continually in remembrance and is bowed down within me. But this I recall and therefore have I hope and expectation: It is because of the Lord’s mercy and loving-kindness that we are not consumed, because His [tender] compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great and abundant is Your stability and faithfulness. The Lord is my portion or share, says my living being (my inner self); therefore will I hope in Him and wait expectantly for Him.

2 thoughts on “Hurt? Hope.

  1. Thank you for showing mr this. 🙂

    “It is also good to know that every time we hurt, every time that we want to scream and ask ‘why?’, every time we feel there’s no way out and we’re pushed to the wall – it’s wonderful to know we have this hope, a real hope, the light at the end of the tunnel, we have God.” I needed this reminder, today. And the verse in Lamentations. My life at this very moment is one of tiredness, confusion, waiting. I needed to hear (read) it’s okay to feel all of this. Thank you. ❤ May He bless you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts... :)

