What The Lily Taught Me

Last Wednesday, I got a Stargazer from the flower market on my way to work.  It’s a flower I’ve always wanted to have beside me, cos of it’s wonderful color and fragrance.  Little did I know I’d be reminded so much by this lily.  More than just appreciating how lovely they are and how nice they smell, they reminded me of life’s brevity, God’s glory, God’s providence, and His amazing grace.

As I see a bud opens up, I’m reminded of Matthew 6:28-31.  Why worry?  See the beautiful flowers in the field, even in the short span of their life, how pretty the Lord has dressed them without them toiling that even Solomon was never dressed as lovely as them.   How much more, then, that God will provide for us?  It also showed me how these fragile creatures never hold back in showing off their beauty to bring glory to their Maker.

Today, one of the lily has withered and it reminded me of life’s brevity; that beauty is fleeting, what is important is to praise God (Proverbs 31:30); of God’s faithfulness in the frailty of this life (Isaiah 40:8);  and the will of the Lord. (James 4:13-16).

It is in the little things, even the tiny flower that springs up from a crack in the pavement, that teaches us the greatest lessons.  Often, it is in the things we take for granted.  So always keep your eyes, ears and heart open, cos our Father is always speaking to us. (:

Share your thoughts... :)

